Lexus CT200h Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'll be picking up my CT in few weeks (finally after 4 months of wait).
I have some questions regarding the maintenance cost of a Hybrid.

I assume we have to take the car to the dealership for any service right?
There is no mechanics out there that can service this car without voiding the warranty, am I correct?

If so, does anyone know how much it cost annually to service/maintain a Hybrid at Lexus dealership? Just wondering so I can prepare for it.

I'm really a newbie to maintaining cars as I take my current Civic to a local mechanic to service it on a need to basics.

Thanks.

·
Registered
51 Posts
You do not have to take the CT to a Lexus dealership. It's actually a federal law imposed by the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act. Provided your car is serviced by a qualified/competent provider your warranty remains in effect.

Keep in mind though that if you do not have records showing you maintained the vehicle that they CAN refuse to cover your warranty. One thing that the dealership will try and sell you on is that if you service with them that your warranty is easy to track since all the service records remain with the dealership.

·
Registered
54 Posts
If you want to save money and still go to a dealer you could take it to Toyota. The car should really only need Oil and Filter changes up until the 90K with oil changes every 10K.

The 90K services is the only service where Lexus would do anything extra which is only to Replace air conditioner filter, Replace brake fluid, Replace engine air filter.

I would get the complimentary first two services and then just do the oil changes yourself or at a cheap alternative and keep your records.

I might consider doing the oil changes at the dealer every 10K but to actually go in every 5K for service and pay over $200 for a tire rotation is crazy.