Lexus CT200h Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If anyone is interested in installing/replacing their HID's, I highly recommend; wwwtheretrofitsource.com

I've tried many other on-line shops, but IMO...they have better quality and excellent customer service. Also, beware...your CT has a somewhat unique HID socket and will require a "XB35" H11 bulb to prevent ground wire shadow. Ask for Andrew...

·
Registered
14 Posts
so if the shadow doesnt bother me, i don't have to get the 11b right? i saw pictures i really don't think it's that noticeable. (the shadow)

also, in terms of harness, i am suppose to get the standalone can bus one instead of the heavy duty relay?

would someone mind explaining that piece to me please? sorry i'm a total newbie to this lol

·
Registered
31 Posts
Hey kl, the relay harness supplies power directly from the battery, which is supposed to ensure you get a constant power supply and therefore avoid any flickering. I had a Prius before and remember that the 12V is in the rear of the car. I'm actually not quite sure where it is located in the CT. The Can-Bus harness' main purpose is to avoid any headlight out warnings from the car's sensor. It fakes it out creating a resistance that mimics the OEM bulb. (at least that's what I understand). I have read that our CT does not have a problem with it anyway. But what the Can-Bus allows you to do is just plug directly into the OEM bulb connector for the power, then that plugs into the ballast, then bulbs plug into the ballast connectors. it's plug n play basically. I think most would opt for that option. On the retrofitsource.com website they explain quite a bit about each.
You can select which one you want when you order the kit.